•   +91-8102469653  |
  •  +91-9570961582
  • Download Tribac Mobile App
Tribac Blue



The All India Engineering Entrance Examination (AIEEE), was an examination organised by the Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) in India. Introduced in the year 2002, this national level competitive test is for admission to various under-graduate engineering and architecture courses in institutes accepting the AIEEE score, mainly 30National Institutes of Technology (NITs) and 5 Indian Institute of Information Technology (IIITs).[1] The examination was generally held on the last Sunday of April and results are announced in the last week of May or the first week of June. Candidates are ranked on an all-India basis and state basis. Thus, they have an All India Rank (AIR) and a State Rank (SR). The examination was replaced by Joint Entrance Examination in April 2013.


The examination consists of only two papers: Paper 1 for B.E./BTech courses and Paper 2 for BArch courses. A candidate can opt for any or both the papers. Paper 1 has three sections: Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry with equal weight for each subject. Each section consists of multiple choice objective-type questions each of which has four choices. Out of the four choices for a given question, only one choice is correct. Paper 1 has a negative-marking scheme wherein an incorrect answer is negatively marked with one fourth of the maximum marks allotted to the question. Paper 2 has three sections: Mathematics, Drawing, and Aptitude. Mathematics, and Aptitude sections have multiple choice objective-type questions and the Drawing section has drawing-based questions. The duration of each paper is three hours. Candidates are not allowed to carry any textual material, calculators, logarithmic tables or electronic devices into the examination hall. The number of questions and their maximum marks have been variable through the years. The questions are based on a syllabus that is common to syllabi of all the state boards in India and the Central Board of Secondary Education. Candidates can opt for question papers either in English or in Hindi language. For admission to BTech or B.E. courses in the participating institutes the candidate is required to take the Paper 1; for admission toBArch or B. Planning courses the candidate is required to take Paper 2. The examination was conducted in offline pen and paper mode till 2010. In 2011, as per the orders of theMinistry of Human Resource Development, CBSE conducted Paper 1 in Computer-Based-Test mode for the first one lakh candidates who opted for the same, while the remaining students took the examination in the conventional pen and paper mode.[2] The number of attempts which a candidate can avail at the examination is limited to three in consecutive years.

In 2010 the Ministry of Human Resource Development announced plans to replace JEE by 2013 with a common entrance test for all government engineering colleges which will be called ISEET


The Central Counselling Board coordinates the admissions to the under-graduate courses in the participating institutes. Only small percentage of students taking the test are eligible for central counselling or state-specific or category-specific counselling on basis of their AIR. Counselling for SC/ST candidates and SC/ST physically handicapped candidates is done on the first two days ,Then the physically handicapped in the Open (OP) category are counselled.

As declared by the Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD), 50% of the seats in NITs will be filled from AIEEEeligible candidates of states where NITs are located and the remaining 50% will be filled on All India Merit basis. Whereas for IIIT's all of the seats are being filled through All India Merit Basis.


The number of applicants in AIEEE-2012 were 1.3 million, in 2011– 1.1 million. According to the number of applicants it is the single day largest exam in the world. Institutes participating in the Central Counselling:

  •  30 National Institutes of Technology
  •  Delhi Technological University Formerly (Delhi College of Engineering)
  •  5 Indian Institutes of Information Technology
  •  Army Institute of Technology, Pune
  •  Birla Institute of Technology, Mesra
  •  Chitkara Institute of Engineering and Technology
  •  Dhirubhai Ambani Institute of Information and Communication Technology
  •  Gurukul Kangri Vishwavidyalaya
  •  Heritage Institute of Technology, Kolkata
  •  RCC Institute of Information Technology
  •  Indian Institute of Science
  •  International Institute of Information Technology, Hyderabad
  •  Jaypee Institute of Information Technology
  •  K J Somaiya College of Engineering
  •  Mewar University
  •  Maharishi Markandeshwar University, Mullana
  •  Mumbai University Institute of Chemical Technology
  •  National Institute of Foundry and Forge Technology
  •  Netaji Subhas Institute of Technology
  •  Netaji Subhash Engineering College
  •  Nirma University of Science and Technology
  •  Pandit Deendayal Petroleum University
  •  PEC University of Technology
  •  Roorkee Institute of Technology
  •  School of Planning and Architecture
  •  SelaQui Academy of Higher Education
  •  Shanmugha Arts, Science, Technology & Research Academy
  •  Sharda University
  •  Sir Padampat Singhania University
  •  Tezpur University
  •  University of Petroleum & Energy Studies, Dehradhun
  •  The LNM Institute of Information Technology